Cross-Curriculum Responsibilities

There are three key competencies and skills which are the foundations for almost all learning and are essential to being able to participate successfully and confidently in the modern world. They contribute to the Right to an Education (Article 26) which all children have. These skills  are literacy, numeracy and digital competence. These will be cross-curriculum responsibilities for all teachers and people who work with children and young people.

Using the Literacy and Numeracy Framework (LNF) and Digital Competence Framework (DCF) teachers at Crynallt Primary School plan learning opportunities for children to apply skills and concepts they have learned  across the curriculum through completing realistic tasks appropriate for their stage of development.

What is the ‘Literacy and Numeracy Framework’ (LNF)

It is a planning tool for teachers and staff in schools, identifying clear targets in literacy and numeracy for all learners aged 5 to 14.
 Both primary and secondary schools will use the Framework to make sure that the teaching of literacy and numeracy skills is across the curriculum not just in English and Maths lessons.  Nearly all lessons will have a numeracy or literacy focus through number work, oracy, reading, problem solving or writing.
There are lots of examples of this approach in school already. A few of them are:
  • writing presentations to ‘sell Wales as a venue for the World Cup’
  • running Enterprise Week in class, working out cost and profit;
  • cooking, using scales to measure ingredients and reading/writing recipes;
  • making ‘Halloween Spells’ with different liquids and solids:
  • using maths to reproduce a map of Bangladesh;
  • writing reports on rugby stars.

What is the ‘Digital Competence Framework’ (DCF)

The framework introduces and develops the skills needed to live and work in an increasingly online and digital world, ranging from communicating and collaborating to problem solving and handling online bullying.

Like literacy and numeracy it will apply across all subjects, developing skills and confidence in learners that make them adaptable to changes in technology over time.

The framework has four strands of equal importance. Each has a number of elements which explore the detail within it. The strands are:

  • Citizenship – which includes the elements of ‘Identity, image and reputation’, ‘Health and well-being’, ‘Digital rights, licensing and ownership’, and ‘Online behaviour and cyberbullying’
  • Interacting and collaborating – which includes the elements of ‘Communication’, ‘Collaboration’, and ‘Storing and sharing’
  • Producing – which includes the elements of ‘Planning, sourcing and searching’, ‘Creating’, and ‘Evaluating and improving’
  • Data and computational thinking – which includes the elements of ‘Problem solving and modelling’, and ‘Data and information literacy’.